Skip to main content

Public Notices

This page contains official information and notifications regarding procurement, contracts, and other legal requirements of the South Carolina Aeronautics Commission (SCAC).

June 13, 2024

The South Carolina Aeronautics Commission (SCAC) mission is to foster air and economic development by overseeing the safety and development of the state's public use airports, by providing safe and reliable air transportation for state government and business prospects; and by providing aviation education opportunities.

The SCAC supports each of our programs under the direction of the Aeronautics Commissioners, each of which are appointed by their Legislative Delegations. These Commissioners are here to represent the airport needs throughout the state.  Districts 3, 5 and 6 will expire on February 15th, 2025. The District 7 term has been extended by proviso until June 30, 2025. It is
imperative that airports in these districts have representation.

District 3 airports include: Saluda County, Edgefield County, McCormick County, Anderson Regional, Oconee County, Newberry County, Greenwood County, Pickens County and Laurens County.

District 5 airports include: Union County, Lee County‐Butters Field, Woodward Field, Chester/Catawba Regional, Fairfield County, Lancaster County, Sumter, Kirk Air base and Rock Hill‐York County.

District 6 airports include: Hampton County, Ridgeland‐Claud Dean, Lake City, Holly Hill, St. George, Bamberg County‐Tobul Field, Allendale County, Charleston International, Williamsburg Regional, Jim Hamilton‐LB Owens, Santee Cooper Regional, Orangeburg Municipal, and Lowcountry Regional.

District 7 airports include: Branhams, Cheraw Muni Lynch Bellinger Field, Clio Crop Care, Conway‐Horry County, Darlington County Jetport, Dillon County, Florence Regional, Flying W, Georgetown County, Green Sea, Hartsville Regional, Huggins Memorial, Marion County, Marlboro County Jetport‐H.E. Avent Field, Myrtle Beach International, Grand Strand, Pageland, Robert F. Swinnie and Twin City.

Please help us fill these upcoming commission vacancies.

All Commission members must have a proven record of public and community service, and experience in the field of business and aviation. Additionally, each member must meet at least two of the following criteria:
1. General aviation experience
2. Airport of fixed based operator (FBO) management experience
3. Aviation service provider experience
4. Previous service as a state or regional airport commissioner
5. Legal experience
6. Active involvement in a recognized aviation association

If you meet the qualifications above and are interested in serving, or if you know of a good candidate, please contact me at (803) 896‐6262.


Gary W. Siegfried, PE
Executive Director
South Carolina Aeronautics Commission