Skip to main content

South Carolina Aeronautics Commission

The South Carolina Aeronautics Commission is composed of eight members: one member from each Congressional District elected by the Delegations of the Congressional District, and one member appointed by the Governor upon the advice and consent of the Senate (South Carolina Legislative Manual).

Commission Members

Commissioners Emeritus


Ira E. "Bud" Coward

Commissioner Emeritus

Aeronautics Executive Director: 1999 – 2004
Commissioner District Three: 
February 2008 - August 2012
Commissioner District Two: 
January 2015 – May 2019

Commissioner Emeritus Proclamation


Jim Hamilton

Commissioner Emeritus

Commissioner: June 1985 - June 1993
Chairman: July 1989 - June 1993
Vice Chairman: February 2005 - August 2007

Commissioner Emeritus Proclamation

Please send Commissioner correspondence to: 2553 Airport Boulevard West Columbia, SC 29170